TheBestPessimist's XMG Fusion 15 review

Updated: 2019-12-17 21:06

Headnote

This review is done from the perspective of a software developer. Of a person who is used to work whilst not looking at the keyboard, using touch typing, and pressing multiple keyboard shortcuts comprised of multiple keys such as Ctrl+Alt+Shift+ any key including the F-Keys (pressing Alt+F8, Ctrl+F11, etc.) tens if not hundred times a day.

You can understand that my main and strongest complains regarding the laptop are related to the keyboard.

Currently I am considering if I can live for the next 2-3 years with this laptop, or if I should return it, so this is a review as much for you, reader, as it is helping me to organize my thoughts.

Display

The display is bright enough for me while using indoors. The colors are okay. I have not done any photo work lately, so I cannot give a good review about this.

Performance

I work as a Java/JVM developer, and am used to having big, large and heavy applications running on my machine. Using Windows as OS. Using Intellij Idea, Docker with Kubernetes in which i have Postgres and RabbitMQ running. Having 28 out of my 32 GB of ram filled doesn’t scare me in the least.

The Fusion has no problems whatsoever here, churns thorough all the multitasking I throw at it with breeze, whilst being acceptably quiet for an open-space with people not wearing headphones. I have found that the balanced power setting (not windows power plan) has as good as performance power setting, whilst keeping the fans a bit quieter.

All in all Performance OK :white_check_mark:.

Battery Life

I did not have enough time to test the battery life, but here’s a battery report as of right now: batteryreport.html - Google Drive.

Touchpad

I really believed (and expected) the touchpad to be larger. Alas it was not :(. Where can one get a Macbook Pro sized touchpad without buttons on windows?